Origami Bow Tie

As I hinted before in my previous post, I’m throwing a Dr. Who party this month for the series premiere starting April 23rd on BBC America. Since the man of the house and I are throwing a party, I’ve gotten entirely in the spirit of Dr. Who and will be whipping up a ton of favors, food and drinks for the event. And what better way to start it off than with Bow ties!

You’ll need the following supplies:

  • Red Construction paper
  • Craft Glue
  • Scissors
  • 1″ bar pins with adhesive backi ng
  • A lot of patience
This design will take you about 15-20 minutes. The hardest part for me was getting the origami part down. I recommend you use some computer paper for the first test runs until you’re comfortable enough to do it with the construction paper. I do not recommend using card-stock.
Step one: Making the Bow. Because I’m no expert at origami, I followed Paper Kawaii’s tutorial up until Step 12. I recommend you watch the video first if the pictures seem a bit confusing. I know it took me a few tries to get it right.
Step 2: Once you’ve finished making the origami bow to step 12, you’ll have two extra pieces at the bottom (the hanging ribbons). Cut them off, leaving about 1/4 of an inch of paper.
Step Two: Turn the bow over and follow step 15 above. Fold the corners and tuck them into the center of the bow. You can use a tiny bit of craft glue inside the square to keep the folds securely in place.
Step Three: GLUE! Remember that extra part we saved? We’re going to fold it over and glue it to add extra support to the back of the bow-tie for the 1″ bar pin.
Fold the extra bits up and down to crease. You also want to make sure that it does not show on the front of the bow. Cut off any excess. We want to keep this part hidden.
Apply glue
Press down the bottom flap to ensure a good seal.

Do the same with the top flap, folding and gluing it to the bottom flap.
Apply glue behind the flap to ensure it’s nice and secure to the bow. We don’t want it moving around once we’ve got the pin on it.
Awesome! We’re ready to add the pin.
Once the glue has dried, apply the adhesive bar pin to the top of the flap. This will keep it from folding forward then you pin it on. Make sure to press down nice and firm to get a good seal.
VoilĂ !! You’re now the coolest one around.

Keep reading for more Dr. Who craft ideas and other crazy things I’m sure I’ll come up with.
-Stephanie

About Stephanie

more later
This entry was posted in Dr. Who and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Origami Bow Tie

  1. chrissy says:

    hehe, nice variation. I will try this too :o)

    x

Leave a comment