Chocolate & PB Dalek Cupcakes

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
Yup… you heard right! Chocolate. Peanut Butter. Daleks. So delicious and rich, you’ll find yourself exterminating the Daleks themselves. Or as the man of the house said, Extermi-nom-nom-nom!

I really wanted a good Dalek Cupcake for the party. I’d seen lots of versions on the internet, but none of which I thought looked that great. Determined to make on better, we spent a week going over options. Then we saw the mini muffin liners while at the grocery store and it all came together. Mini Cupcakes with mini Reese’s!! Obviously it was a success. Victory!!
I finished a test batch of cupcakes for our party this weekend. Since Passover starts tonight at sundown, I won’t be able to eat any cake for a while, and decided to go ahead and get these out of the way while I could still indulge.
** This recipe took a lot of time, patience and space in the fridge. If you plan on making a big batch, be sure to keep at least one shelf free in your fridge. I made a batch of 11 (one didn’t make it) and it was a tight squeeze. If you are serious about making these, I’d make sure you have a few hours to be able to focus your attention on it.

What you’ll need:

  • Mini Muffin Pans
  • Mini cupcake liners
  • Cake Mix (or whatever cupcake recipe you want)
  • Icing, and lots of it!
  • Icing bag & tip (makes it 1000 times easier)
  • Reese’s Mini Peanut Butter cups
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter chips
  • Chocolate Chips
  • Toothpicks
  • 2″ Dollies (optional, but convenient)
Go ahead and put together your cake mix like you normally would. I filled my paper liners to almost the top. I wanted them to bake above the paper so that I’d have more room to work. Remember, the top of the cupcake will be the bottom of the Dalek. I also baked extra cake. You can make extra cupcakes if you want, or if you have a spare pan, bake a small batch of cake. You’ll only need about 1/4″ in height of cake and 1/2″ in diameter. This will serve as the base for the Dalek’s head.
Once you’ve got all your cake baked and cooled, turn over your cupcakes and see how they stand. If the cupcake tops came out too rounded, cut them to stand flat.
Place the Reese’s cups on-top of the cupcakes. I uses some of the icing as a glue to hold the parts together. I then placed some of the extra cake on-top. Again, this will be the base for the head, and hold the Dalek’s eye stick.
Once everything has been placed, grab your icing bag and tip. I used the Wilton RM 12 tip, but you can use whatever you have available. You want nice and thick lines. The Peanut Butter cups will be going on here.  It’s ok if it get’s messy. You can shape the icing after it’s chilled in the fridge. After about an hour or so of letting them sit in the fridge (I just had them sitting on a plate) take them out and begin decorating.
To get the “plunger” and eye-stick, I broke the toothpicks to the size I wanted and stabbed the sharp point into the top of the chocolate chip. I then used finger to melt the chocolate securely around the toothpick.
I used the Reese’s PB chips for the globes and “ear” pieces to the Daleks. These were easy to place on once the icing had chilled.
Let chill until you’re ready to serve. I jerry-rigged a Pyrex baking dish so that I could place them in the fridge overnight and wrap it up with cellophane. If too much air gets onto the icing, it will eventually harden.
When it’s time to serve, use a spatula to gently pry them off the plates they’ve been sitting on. Place on your mini dollies and serve! You now have you’re very own army of tasty Daleks.

Exterminate!!! (er, I mean enjoy!)

-Stephanie

About Stephanie

more later
This entry was posted in Dr. Who and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chocolate & PB Dalek Cupcakes

  1. Rik Bain says:

    Great post! Thanks for sharing. Reese’s Minis rule.

Leave a Reply

